2012 O’Toole Award Winners Announced at 4A’s Transformation LA 2012

Winners of the 2012 4A’s O’Toole Awards for Creative Excellence were announced this afternoon during the 4A’s annual conference Transformation LA 2012, at The Beverly Hilton in Los Angeles. Winners were announced by Chuck Porter, Chairman, Crispin Porter + Bogusky, LLC, and out-going Chairman of the 4A’s.

Top winners included: BBDO New York (Large Agency); 72andSunny (Mid-Sized Agency); and mono (Small Agency). Leo Burnett Chicago was the top winner in the O’TooleBox category for its work on behalf of “Mayhem” for the Allstate. A complete list of winners can be found below.

“The O’Toole competition is very tough,” says Porter. “All the finalists and winners must have the chops to consistently create the best work in the business. And their recognition today reflects that.”

“The O’Toole Awards not only celebrate today’s creativity, they serve to build future creativity,” added Nancy Hill, President and CEO, 4A’s. “The proceeds from this competition are used to help fund scholarships for multicultural students of the advertising creative arts.”

The O’Toole Awards program is known as one of the toughest industry competitions because entering the agency categories requires that an agency submits a body of work representing different brands; the O’TooleBox requires an agency to submit a single brand with multiple touchpoints. The award is also the biggest award in the industry, literally, clocking in at almost 40 pounds. The award is open to all agencies, including international. Judging is peer-to-peer level as agencies call upon their creatives to judge categories of non-competing size groups. Proceeds of the awards are donated to the 4A’s Foundation, Inc; a primary goal of the Foundation is to award scholarships to multicultural students of the advertising arts.

The 2012 0’Toole Awards for Creative Excellence Winners

The O’Toolebox
 Winner: Leo Burnett Chicago: Allstate

 Leo Burnett Chicago: Secret Deodorant
 CP+B and Digitas: American Express
 Draftfcb: Electronic Arts

Large Agency Category
Winner: BBDO New York

 Deutsch Inc.
 The Martin Agency

Mid-Size Agency Category
Winner: 72andSunny

 BBH New York
 Wong, Doody, Crandall, Wiener

Small Agency Category
Winner: mono

 Gabriel deGrood Bendt
 Red Tettemer + Partners

The 2012 O’Toole Awards for Creative Excellence Judging Agencies included: Arnold Boston; Arnold DC; Bailey Lauerman; BBDO New York; BBH New York; Bromley Communications; CP+B; Clarity Coverdale Fury Advertising, Inc.; Colle McVoy; Conill; GSDM; HY Connect; Lapiz; Leo Burnett; Lindsay, Stone & Briggs; Martin | Williams; McKinney; mono; Mullen; Publicis; Pyper Paul +Kenney; TAXI; The Gates; The Martin Agency; The Richards Group; and Wong, Doody, Crandall, Wiener.

About the O’Toole Awards
Established in 1991, the 4A’s O’Toole Awards for Creative Excellence competition is one of the most competitive and highly-regarded award programs in advertising. In order to win, an agency must submit an entire body of stellar work across several different clients. Its purpose is to recognize agencies that consistently set and maintain the very highest standards.

All proceeds go to the 4A’s Foundation, Inc., which was established in 1997. A primary goal of the Foundation is to award scholarships to multicultural students of the advertising arts.

About the 4A’s
The 4A’s is the national trade association of the advertising agency business. The 1,200 member agency offices it serves in the U.S. employ 65,000 people; offer a wide range of marketing communications services, and place 80 percent of all national advertising. The management-oriented association helps its members build their businesses, and acts as the industry’s spokesperson with government, media and the public sector. For more information, visit the 4A’s website at www.aaaa.org.